Author Topic: Epic FU money stories  (Read 2794868 times)

Dogastrophe

• Bristles
Re: Epic FU money stories
« Reply #2850 on: October 14, 2019, 03:22:02 PM »
I'm so excited to have one of my first FU money experiences today! It's little, but mighty.

I am a designer and this weekend (Ugh - weekend. Strike one.) I had a client contact me about a job. The last line of her e-mail, verbatim, was "if you're interested, I can explain exactly what we need on a very tight timeline and even tighter budget." Gawd, what a horrible proposition!

Of course there are a few reasons to consider a job like that... if it's an important client or could lead to other, better jobs, etc. But that didn't apply here. In past years, I would have had to take the job because I needed the money, period. Now I'm able to discriminate, and I kind of feel like throwing myself a party because it's so awesome. Three cheers for being able to take a pass on the crappy assignments of life!!

Well done!  Often times you will come out ahead by not taking a crappy job.

Flip side, at least they have a budget and they didn't offer to pay you in "exposure" on their 100 follower instagram.  :)

mm1970

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2851 on: October 15, 2019, 11:11:51 AM »
I'm so excited to have one of my first FU money experiences today! It's little, but mighty.

I am a designer and this weekend (Ugh - weekend. Strike one.) I had a client contact me about a job. The last line of her e-mail, verbatim, was "if you're interested, I can explain exactly what we need on a very tight timeline and even tighter budget." Gawd, what a horrible proposition!