Author Topic: Enough with this "millenial" bullshit!  (Read 61492 times)

rantk81

• Pencil Stache
Re: Enough with this "millenial" bullshit!
« Reply #100 on: March 22, 2016, 08:50:05 AM »
A data point:

I was born in '81, so I think I might be either one of the first crop of millennials, or part of "Oregon Trail" :)

I graduated from university, and got my first job in '04, starting at 48K/yr.

After some promotions, some annual raises, and once complaining about low compensation relative to my peers when I was performing better/more work, I'm still at the same company (well, basically the same, after the various mergers), and making nearly 140K/yr now.

TheOldestYoungMan

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #101 on: March 22, 2016, 09:41:54 AM »
I didn't want to be a lazy snake person, so I looked to the oldest people in the office for a model of how to behave.

1.  Phone it in everyday, you're almost to retirement and it isn't like your pay is going up much these last few years.
2.  Take lots of sick time.  It's only natural, you never really took care of yourself so it's OK to just not show up.
3.  Roll your eyes whenever the pension/401k/other retirement gets cut for all new hires, you're grandfathered in (saving on my own) so it doesn't actually matter.
4.  Blame others for your lack of productivity.  If only they would have shown you how to use the new program, you'd have completed your work on time.
5.  Come in super early so you can drink coffee/read the paper/chit-chat with others, claim you came in even earlier, and then leave at 3:30 every day after dumping 4-5 hours of work on the snake person's desk.

Etc.

Some snake people aren't very good employees.  Fixed that for you.

TheOldestYoungMan

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #102 on: March 22, 2016, 09:46:37 AM »
That browser extension really is fun.  Is there one that changes liberal and conservative to asshole?  Cuz that would be great.