Author Topic: Do we have a financial/ lifestyle set point that's hard to shift?  (Read 5254 times)

Moustachienne

• Bristles
Like a few others, I've been a bit surprised at the level of income and required stache of many posters as I associate MMM with a more modest level.  So I've been thinking that maybe we all have pretty firm internalized set points regarding what a comfortable stache is, probably strongly based on our family background and its implicit and explicit expectations.  My background is frugal Canadian from a slightly earlier time than MMM and I know that influences what I see as necessities or luxuries, both pro and con.

So my parents could afford nice international travel in later life but still had senior citizen friends drive them to the airport through rush hour traffic rather than pay for a cab.  My husband and I think the trip starts at the door and I feel guilty and gleeful at this different decision.

Aussiegirl

• Stubble
Re: Do we have a financial/ lifestyle set point that's hard to shift?
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2015, 12:22:20 AM »
I think it also comes down to personality.  I value financial security very highly, so our 'stash and required income will be higher than what most would consider necessary.  My husband regularly tells me our heirs will make out like bandits.....

Miss Prim

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2015, 07:55:15 AM »
Everyone has their own level of comfort in regards to spending.  We have a 2nd home at a lake, which is really not necessary from a mustachian point of view, but we spend time on weekends there as a family retreat.  It didn't cost us a whole lot and it has been fully paid off for years.  Some of our best memories have taken place there.

We like to travel a lot, but try to do it as cheaply as possible.  We don't spend money on clothes, new cars,  new furniture, fancy food etc.  I think mustachianism is spending money on the things that make you happy, and cutting back on the things that don't.