Author Topic: Coping strategies in a corporate environement and "not giving a shit"  (Read 5509 times)

gerardc

• Pencil Stache
I'm starting to realize the work/stress correlation is strong... too much work makes me severely unhappy and eventually depressed (I'm a software engineer at a top software company). This becomes obvious during weekends (provided I don't work), vacations and periods of lower work load, where I feel my unconcious mind coming back to life.

During work, I'm trying not to dip in unhealthy coping mechanisms, like junk food, bad sex, alcohol, pain killers, or cigarettes, and I'm searching for alternatives. Here's what I found so far searching this forum:

- Arriving to work later and leaving earlier. I seriously think this isn't worth it, because there's a huge stimga and red flags directly associated with that, even if your employer is flexible and doesn't micro-manage. You need to find a way to work less by flying under the radar.
- Leave work at work, never work at home, don't think about work at home. Work from home is less rewarded, because people don't see you working so they assume the solution was simple. Promotions are based in part on apparent complexity.
- In general, never think about work unless you're at the office in front of the computer. Whenever doing something else (working out, relationship, relaxing, etc.) focus 100% on that activity.
- Only look at and answer emails unfrequently, i.e. 3 times a day (morning, early afternoon, before leaving).