Author Topic: Composting  (Read 39000 times)

freeazabird

• Stubble
    • Bmore Bungalow
Composting
« on: May 06, 2016, 07:17:19 AM »
Do you compost? Is it worth it? If so, how do I get started in the cheapest and simplest way?

mbl

• Bristles
Re: Composting
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2016, 07:21:25 AM »
Do you compost? Is it worth it? If so, how do I get started in the cheapest and simplest way?

We have a lot of space(acres) so I picked a spot past the orchard and fill it with vegetable cuttings , fruit cuttings and egg shells.
We never added anything to it.   I turned it over from time to time and it produces adequate compost.

big_owl

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2016, 07:52:25 AM »
I compost all our household waste that is compostable.  Honestly I'm not sure it's really worth it.  I've been doing it for several years yet my pile is only about 2ft tall.  It certainly doesn't produce anywhere near enough compost to actually do anything with in the garden other than maybe add a tiny amount of compost to one of my raised beds.  And this even includes shredded paper waste and even algae that I clean out of my backyard pond.  Heck I even include the wood ash waste from my wood stove. 

Since I have a mulching mower I don't have any need to compost lawn clippings or leaves, maybe that's the problem.  The only real benefit I see is that the waste doesn't clutter up my trash bags (I can go up to 3 weeks without going to the dump) and it is less waste to the landfill so there's a tiny environmental benefit.

Chris22

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2016, 08:23:17 AM »
Never understood the point myself, unless you've got a garden and you think it makes a meaningful difference there.  Most of my compostable waste (food waste) goes down my garbage disposal.  Not sure why composting is better.

big_owl

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2016, 08:27:49 AM »