Author Topic: Celebrations Thread  (Read 1648314 times)

jordy913

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Celebrations Thread
« Reply #900 on: March 24, 2015, 02:49:30 PM »
New member here. I started learning about FIRE in January of this year and I'm completely on board. So many light bulb moments! In the past 3-4 months, I:

- Upped my 401K contribution and Roth IRA (via backdoor) to the max
- Cancelled my Birchbox and PopSugar Must Have subscription boxes <-- What was I thinking?!
- Cancelled my gym membership and committed to exercising outdoors
- Got YNAB and set up a budget
- Set up an account on Personal Capital
- Haven't bought any new clothes
- Stopped buying stupid s**t on Amazon all the time
- Generally adopted a mindset of "Do I REALLY need that? Prob not"

It's really liberating! Next stop is to cut the cable cord, but it's March Madness and my DH is asking to wait until the tournament is over. I guess I can hold out until then :0

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
« Reply #901 on: March 24, 2015, 03:07:52 PM »
- Upped my 401K contribution and Roth IRA (via backdoor) to the max
- Cancelled my Birchbox and PopSugar Must Have subscription boxes <-- What was I thinking?!
- Cancelled my gym membership and committed to exercising outdoors
- Got YNAB and set up a budget
- Set up an account on Personal Capital
- Haven't bought any new clothes
- Stopped buying stupid s**t on Amazon all the time
- Generally adopted a mindset of "Do I REALLY need that? Prob not"

Congrats.  The first and last one will be particularly helpful in reaching FI.

Write Thyme

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • I will get there one day.
    • Simple Living. Saving + Frugality. Meal Planning.
« Reply #902 on: March 28, 2015, 02:32:03 PM »
I just changed my 401k contribution from 8% to 14%! I changed my w4 withholding so it all worked out fairly even. My husband will be opening a Roth IRA just in time to take advantage of the saver's credit for 2014.