Author Topic: Celebrations Thread  (Read 1648259 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Celebrations Thread
« Reply #700 on: August 11, 2014, 08:36:36 PM »
Congrats!  What a great feeling.  :)
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Daisy

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #701 on: August 11, 2014, 10:29:31 PM »
Congrats!  What a great feeling.  :)

Thanks! Your comment has just now inspired me to adopt a FIRE theme song:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ILWSp0m9G2U

I may or may not have recreated the studio dance scene in my home just now...

kittystache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #702 on: August 14, 2014, 12:22:10 PM »
New Mustacian here! 

I discovered the blog a couple of months ago and it has inspired some MAJOR changes in my house with more to come.  Why is this a big deal?  Because my husband and I are both well-employed and fall for the whole - "We can afford it" thing or "Time for money" thing hands down.  But what I am finding is that making these changes is really propelling us to get our values in order, communicate more and allow for better quality of life!  Money does not buy happiness.  Badassity breeds happiness and Happiness breeds happiness. 

Now ER and FI is a real goal that we can both work towards.  MMM has improved our marriage and family life!

Our recent changes:
  • No more cable.  Duh!  Don't make fun of us for having cable.  We are new here remember?  We have been asleep.  We were on auto-pilot here - at $100 a month (Bought a Roku - is definitely awesome-er)  I was punching myself in the face with that stupid bill.  WE NEVER EVEN WATCHED IT!!!