Author Topic: Celebrations Thread  (Read 1648275 times)

CloserToFree

• Bristles
  • 30-sth lawyer (for now), traveler, lover of nature
Re: Celebrations Thread
« Reply #1550 on: June 13, 2017, 09:04:08 AM »
Congrats to everyone hitting milestones on this thread!  We just passed $900k of investments a couple weeks ago at age 35/36.  Am feeling pretty awesome about how close we are to FIRE (for us, will probably be when our investments hit $1m or thereabouts, bc we have some other real estate that will be sold in the next few years and added to the pile).  Can't wait to be free from the need to work :)

MinnieAG

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #1551 on: June 19, 2017, 08:11:15 PM »
At 22 years old I reached a six figure net worth this week!!

Congrats. If you don't mind me asking, how did you get there so early?

Not at all! A number of factors have fast-tracked my progress.

I graduated with my bachelor's degree in 2015 (with zero debt/student loans thanks to my parents). By this point, I had already saved up a good chunk of change from various jobs/internships as well as savings bonds received from grandparents growing up (~$15k). I got married that January, and my husband (25) had saved up roughly $30k between his Roth IRA and 401k. I landed a job in sales straight out of school, earning $60k + commission + phone + car (including gas and insurance... this really adds up!). We sold my car when I was given a company car and invested that money (~$10k). We invest nearly all of my salary, and a large chunk of my husband's $110k salary. It is certainly in our favor that our investments over the last year and a half have returns of 20%+... obviously this won't be the case every year.