Author Topic: Career Advice  (Read 1902 times)

davsey27

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Career Advice
« on: October 06, 2017, 12:18:45 PM »
I am 31 years old and have made some mistakes since i graduated from college in 2010.I only have around 4,000 saved up with about 5,000 in student loans and am looking for a career change.I have a BS in Health Sciences and wouldn't mind finding an entry level 9-5 job that pays 30k a year.Recreational Therapists make about 40 k a year and i was looking into online programs which would run me 15-20k and was wondering if it is worth it in my financial situation since that would put me into further debt. After working minimum wage jobs i realized that i don't want to be on my feet for 8-12 hours.Something meaningful 32-40 hours a week that involves helping people and doesn't leave me drained at the end of the day.I don't even mind walking dogs.I also thought about becoming a health coach but am a little worried about the risk of getting clients.I am having some difficulties focusing in on one area.Any input would be appreciated.

freemonk

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Career Advice
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2017, 05:43:20 AM »
What are you making now?
I wouldn't take out 20k for that starting point.
Have you considered something more lucrative?
Get that debt paid off, it's been 7.5 years!

Best of luck.

Cubist

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2017, 08:11:06 AM »