Author Topic: Career Advice  (Read 3947 times)

davsey27

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Career Advice
« on: October 06, 2017, 12:20:30 PM »
I am 31 years old and have made some mistakes since i graduated from college in 2010.I only have around 4,000 saved up with about 5,000 in student loans and am looking for a career change.I have a BS in Health Sciences and wouldn't mind finding an entry level 9-5 job that pays 30k a year.Recreational Therapists make about 40 k a year and i was looking into online programs which would run me 15-20k and was wondering if it is worth it in my financial situation since that would put me into further debt. After working minimum wage jobs i realized that i don't want to be on my feet for 8-12 hours.Something meaningful 32-40 hours a week that involves helping people and doesn't leave me drained at the end of the day.I don't even mind walking dogs.I also thought about becoming a health coach but am a little worried about the risk of getting clients.I am having some difficulties focusing in on one area.Any input would be appreciated.

ender

• Walrus Stache
Re: Career Advice
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2017, 01:13:44 PM »
Recreational Therapist sounds like a waste of 30k to me, honestly.

Can you look into being an administrative assistant? Most companies have some level of that and it can be a good way into a less stressful job (I think a handful of people here do this actually).

Do you have a local hospital/clinic? Might be a good place to find the above, too.

SimpleSpartan

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2017, 01:56:22 PM »
Health science? Why not become a nurse and make 60-80k a year, or work part time and get your 30k a year and have 4 days off a week. Honestly... I think its time to man tf up, work isn't supposed to be fun or they wouldn't pay you. Use it as a  tool so you can go live your life.

davsey27

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2017, 03:14:49 PM »