Author Topic: Brand new reader saying Hello !!  (Read 2912 times)

Re3iRtH

• Stubble
Brand new reader saying Hello !!
« on: July 24, 2017, 01:09:10 AM »
Hello all! What a huge community here. I have just started poking around the MMM blog articles a few weeks ago, and I am definitely intrigued.

For a brief introduction, I am a 32 year old single guy currently residing in interior Alaska. I have always been a little different, coming from a family of artists (I am a military doctor). My favorite things are music, travel, and self-experimentation. I never identified myself with my profession, as most folks do (and ALL physicians do in my experience). And I never thought medical school or residency were particularly tough, as my peers like to say.

I spent 2011 - 2016 in Hawaii.. and I would estimate that I lived on 50-70K per year. I always thought this was very reasonable, as I had a mortgage, ate out for ~90% of my meals, 3-4 international trips per year, and 7-10 mini-vacations per year from the expensive city of Honolulu. I don't think I could ever give up frequent travel - it sort of defines my personality.

After working on myself, doing a lot of reading, traveling, self-experimentation .. the more I realized I am happier the less I spend. I picked up a few investment properties, but I currently rent here in Alaska and I love it! Including rent, I estimate that I currently spend 30-35K per year to live and that still includes 2-3+ long distance trips per year.

I am still a newbie to the whole FI/ER, and I look forward to getting to know each and every one of you! (OK maybe that is too ambitious). Hope everyone had a great weekend.

RobFIRE

• Bristles
  • Projected FIRE May 2020
Re: Brand new reader saying Hello !!
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2017, 07:18:35 AM »
Welcome to the forums.