Author Topic: Bizarre restaurant tipping incident  (Read 77425 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Bizarre restaurant tipping incident
« Reply #100 on: December 18, 2014, 11:04:27 AM »
I hate doing mental math, so just double the tax and round up. That gets me around 15-20% tip. I only tip at restaurants though. All this crap about tipping the mailman, etc - no. You're outta luck, and if you don't like it find a better paying job.

I find it weird that people that don't like math double the tip. If you can double, can't you shift a decimal one place and the double?  Then you aren't relying on a multiple of the tax (and whatever percentage that happens to be at).
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

purplish

• Stubble
« Reply #101 on: December 18, 2014, 12:14:11 PM »
To the anti-tipping comments:

If you're against tipping, the correct thing to do: Attempt to pass a law requiring it is outlawed and waiters/bartenders make a normal wage.

Wrong thing: Not tip!

As a former bartender, who made $2.25 an hour plus tips.... you realize if you didn't tip, I'd essentially be making your drink for free?  Sorry but no, since tipping is the norm, do it.  When I bartended I made about $25 an hour in tips... so you're saying people should feel fine going to just minimum wage?  Again, since its the norm, that's what you need to do.  Otherwise, don't go out.