Author Topic: Banff and Jasper on the cheap(ish)  (Read 2958 times)

GreenSheep

• Handlebar Stache
Banff and Jasper on the cheap(ish)
« on: October 20, 2016, 03:07:36 PM »
Well, it would be cheaper if we went in January and stayed in tents, but... I'm meeting up with a Canadian friend in Calgary next summer, and we're going to rent a small RV and explore Banff, Jasper, and the surrounding area. We'll be grocery shopping and making our own food, and we're still deciding whether to pay the daily park entrance fee or get a Discovery Pass, but what about where to park this gas-guzzling beast for the night?

Preliminary research indicates that campsites are not always easy to reserve and are not terribly cheap. I've never done the RV thing before, but when I've done road trips with car/tent camping in the US, I've often stayed at campsites that are just outside of national parks, which are cheaper and easier to reserve. Do any of you Canadian Mustachians (or those who have traveled there) have any tips on where to camp? Any thoughts on specific places to see, whether in the parks or near them, would also be very much appreciated.

BigHaus89

• Stubble
  • Ride the Spiral to the End
Re: Banff and Jasper on the cheap(ish)
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2016, 03:18:38 PM »
Look for campsites around Canmore. This isn't in the Provincial park and should be cheaper/easier. You will have to drive a bit every day to get places, but staying in the park, like you said, can be quite difficult and expensive. I went there in September and stayed with friends west of Calgary. We drove an hour each way daily to go do hikes and such.

The ice fields are awesome. Jasper is a little less crowded than Banff. Lake Louise was really cool and REALLY crowded until you start the actual hike to the teahouse.

paddedhat

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2016, 03:37:27 PM »