Author Topic: Audis - Love 'em? Hate 'em? Facepunchworthy?  (Read 4113 times)

ObviouslyNotAGolfer

• Pencil Stache
Audis - Love 'em? Hate 'em? Facepunchworthy?
« on: August 31, 2021, 09:48:49 PM »
OF COURSE they are facepunchworthy. I have heard all the horror stories of how expensive German cars are to maintain and repair. If you really need a car (me unfortunately), of course you should consider a used hybrid or electric, or something similarly frugal. I have been driving the same Volvo brick (740 SE/Turbo) for thirty years (bought NEW in 1991). It has been a great car--very reliable, cheap to own, and still looks great. I still enjoy driving it--so simple, RWD, with a great feel for the road and enough power when I need it. However, it has needed a bunch of expensive repairs this year, still needs cosmetic work, and I am wondering about safety compared to newer cars. We also always rent cars for road trips/vacations because I worry about things going wrong with such an old car on a long trip. It might be time to sell it given that I will likely need to be back on campus (college prof here) starting in 2022. Fortunately, I have a fairly short commute and don't have to be there every day. I have had a few people recently asking whether I want to sell it...

I am toying with the idea of replacing it, but likely not for at least a few months given how crazy the car market is right now.

Anyway...

My wife and I had a great two week roadtrip vacation through the SF Bay Area. We got upgraded to an Audi Q7--my first time driving an Audi. It was a very nice vehicle for this trip--partly because we bring a lot of stuff with us and buy a lot of stuff along the way--mostly gourmet goodies, but also some books and records (records, as in LPs!)