Author Topic: At what point does it make sense to move out of one's parents house?  (Read 8333 times)

alm0stk00l

• Stubble
Re: At what point does it make sense to move out of one's parents house?
« Reply #100 on: January 14, 2022, 08:09:16 PM »
I ultimately moved out of my parent's house when my wife made me. I guess I was 30 or 31 at that point. We lived there for the first 6-12 months of our marriage, but eventually, she decided she no longer wanted to do that which made sense to me.

Everyone mentioning the dating thing is weird to me. I dated while living with my parents and it was never once brought up as an issue with any woman I dated. I know there are movies and stuff that make it seem taboo, but I never experienced that in the entire time I was an adult with a professional career still living with my parents. I am ridiculously charming and I have a carefree attitude that rubs off on those around me which may have contributed to my dating success, but I don't think people actually care that much about where you live.

Many (most?) parents aren't OK with their child bringing a woman home and having loud sex before marriage.

I mean my parents had sex many times over the course of me living with them and I never heard them. It was never an issue going that direction so I'm not sure why it would be in the opposite direction. I guess if I am being honest I am only assuming my parents had sex as I never actually heard them doing so. You are correct though that if you want to have unencumbered sex in the middle of the kitchen it may be time to move out.

I think most parents wouldn't consider the rules being the same for parents and (even grown) children in the same house, I think. Whether on this topic or on many others.