Author Topic: Article - why Gen Y is unhappy  (Read 15200 times)

nnls

• Handlebar Stache
Article - why Gen Y is unhappy
« on: January 11, 2016, 06:56:30 PM »
http://brightside.me/article/why-generation-y-is-unhappy-11105/

I particularly liked this

Social media creates a world for Lucy where
 A) what everyone else is doing is very out in the open,
 B) most people present an inflated version of their own existence, and
C) the people who chime in the most about their careers are usually those whose careers (or relationships) are going the best, while struggling people tend not to broadcast their situation. This leaves Lucy feeling, incorrectly, like everyone else is doing really well, only adding to her misery

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Article - why Gen Y is unhappy
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2016, 02:46:01 AM »
Yup, that's a classic.

Wait But Why has a lot of amazing posts.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

alarswilson

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2016, 05:06:10 AM »
Definitely read the stuff by Newport--esp. "So Good They Can't Ignore You" which pops the passion bubble definitively. I found it a tremendous relief and an incentive to make some coherent sense of where I've come from, and how that can shape and support where I'll go professionally, rather than always starting from zero with some artistic or leisure goal.

Miss Prim

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2016, 06:14:02 AM »