Author Topic: Anyone regret leaving a job?  (Read 127472 times)

mx711yam

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Anyone regret leaving a job?
« on: October 24, 2016, 07:55:13 AM »
So I took a few months off, and decided not to go back.  My wife works part time but makes enough to pay our bills so anything I earn will be extra.  So we decided I would start a company, to which I am in the waiting process right now to get the license through the State, should be a couple more months.

I was a cop, and I left for many reasons.  I had definitely become burned out, and we were having MANY more physical and verbal confrontations with the public than when I started 8 years ago.  I was making very good money at the end of it, 90k a year, and now I find myself having emotional mood swings trying to figure out if I screwed up and made the wrong decision.  It's very hard to walk away from that kind of money to start a business since I have no idea how much I will make.  I am also of the personality type that the grass isn't always greener, and I hate change.  I can't figure out if all this is because I'm sitting here in limbo waiting for a license before the company can actually get going or if I will just always second guess whether I made the right decision.  Also I had been a cop since I got out of college, so it was the only real job I had ever had.  That probably also contributes to me being scared to enter the private field.

I also feel like a bum sitting around all day while my wife works 2 days a week.  Although I do watch our children those 2 days a week which has been really cool since I used to work 50 hours a week minimum so didn't get to see them as much as I would have liked.

mskyle

• Pencil Stache
Re: Anyone regret leaving a job?
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2016, 08:22:05 AM »