Author Topic: Anyone Feel Like FU Money Can Be a Burden?  (Read 4874 times)

Mike in NH

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Anyone Feel Like FU Money Can Be a Burden?
« on: December 13, 2018, 07:04:15 PM »
People talk about the power that comes with having FU money, but right now it almost feels like more of a burden to me.

I've never not liked my job. It was never my dream, but it pays the bills and is allowing me to achieve my dreams. Pursuing FI was always more about chasing the freedom than trying to escape the grind.

I've been chugging along at my company for about 15 years, just doing my thing and happily going about my business. About every 3-5 years I tend to get a little bored so I took a new position at Megacorp this year, thinking it would be my last as I played out the string for a couple more years. Decent team, manager I have worked well with in the past, and a newly created position that looked like a natural fit for me doing work I would enjoy.

Unfortunately, my department suffers from quite a bit of shiny object syndrome and an overall lack of leadership (the leaders are too busy trying to be the workers and nobody can make a decision with 50 people weighing in). It never really impacted me before, I could still find my ways to get things done. But the shiny objects this year have undercut the resources that this new gig was going to rely on to be productive. I can't get anything accomplished and it's driving me insane. It makes it even worse that nobody seems to care whether I get anything done or not.