Author Topic: Any aspiring artists here?  (Read 4759 times)

FIRE Artist

• Handlebar Stache
Any aspiring artists here?
« on: March 15, 2015, 02:06:12 PM »
I am looking towards early retirement being devoted to visual arts/illustration and am wondering if there are any others on here with similar aspirations to devote their FIRE to the arts.

I currently do not have the necessary skills to make any money off of arting, but I have some natural aptitude (great spacial reasoning scores on junior high aptitude tests.  ha ha!).  My background is engineering, working in management in the oil patch (70-80 hr workweek) before having downshifted to the public sector a year ago.  This downshift has given me the luxury of time (37.75hr work week) to start honing my skills in classical oil painting and drawing.   I go to an Atelier style school once a week and take various workshops as I can.  My personal development goals for this year are to carry on with my classical studies, but also learn how to make a website for a blog/portfolio and learn how to use these new fangled digital drawing tools to try my hand at digital illustration.   

This all comes as a financial cost though, which I struggle with when I consider my FIRE goals.  Anyone else share this struggle with the cost of feeding your passion vs. the gain of an additional year of retirement?

Rika Non

• Stubble
Re: Any aspiring artists here?
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2015, 09:24:57 AM »
This is one of the things that does drive me to want to FIRE.

Not really the classic visual arts, I am okay at water colors but not an inspired painter.   But I do want to get back to stained glass and ceramics.  Lapidary and sewing.  I would love to add wood working to the mix.  Also, finally finish a knitting project. 

And have the time for museums & fairs.

risky4me

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2015, 09:01:28 PM »