Author Topic: Advice on how to save for a new starter?  (Read 5200 times)

nick69

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advice on how to save for a new starter?
« on: August 03, 2015, 12:43:20 AM »
Hi Mustachians,

I wasn't sure whether to put this in the "Welcome and general discussion" section or as a "Throw Down the Gauntlet" area but I assume the mod's will move it if necessary. :)

I found MMM the other day so I thought I'd join up and see if I can kick start my finances with some help from this site and it's members.  Basically I've been working FT for a couple years now and have been living from pay to pay with little thought on long terms savings or finances beyond staying out of debt as best I can.  This isn't where I want to be financially so something had to change pretty dramatically.   So I've decided to start saving about 40% of my income or about $400 a week so that I can save $20k over the next year.

My questions for the Mustachians is that given my situation outlined below:
  • Is there anything financially that I should be aware before I begin this task? 
  • Should I be paying off my Student debt first any worrying about saving later? 
  • Once I have some savings what are some ways I can stop my self from spending it before I've invested it properly? 
  • What are some investment strategies that would work best for maximising the return on a $20k investment ?

My situation fight now:
Debt: ~20k student HECS debt (afaik 0% interest and paid off through my taxes?)
- Currently renting so no mortgage.
- Credit card debt is paid off monthly so currently at $0
Investments: ~$5000 in various ASX stocks and precious metals.
Super: ~$50k
Savings: ~$500

Financial goals:
Short term: Save and or invest $20k (about $40% of my income) in the next year.
Long term: Retire by the time I'm 55.

Cheers,
Nick, 

BBub

• Pencil Stache
Re: Advice on how to save for a new starter?
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2015, 07:24:41 AM »