Author Topic: Advice on FAFSA for an Adult Learner  (Read 2270 times)

pstu24

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advice on FAFSA for an Adult Learner
« on: March 22, 2017, 08:33:26 PM »
It has been years since I have been a student, so I am not sure entirely how to even approach this question...

BUT - my employer is having me return to school for classes in pursuit of an advanced certificate in my field. (The certificate satisfies an education requirement which then lets me sit for an advanced test and license & designation and that would qualify me to have a promotion which outweighs the cost of returning almost within the first year after obtaining the designation). However, the courses are upper level, but still undergraduate courses. My question is, should I / do I / can I still fill out the FAFSA?

I don't even know if I HAVE to, or if I SHOULD. BUT, I was thinking both from a point of potentially trying to qualify for a grant or scholarship, should I even bother (I don't know if my situation will preclude me from any awards). My employer may reimburse me partially, but I am not sure of the specifics yet. I am also only going to be taking roughly 4 courses per year for the next year and a half or two (including summers).

Any advice is much appreciated!

hudsoncat

• Bristles
Re: Advice on FAFSA for an Adult Learner
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2017, 01:07:36 PM »