Author Topic: Need Some Advice  (Read 5976 times)

imaprogrammer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Need Some Advice
« on: September 20, 2015, 07:51:49 PM »
I started riding my bike to work a couple of weeks ago. I was doing this for about two weeks, but these are the things holding me back.

• Everyone looks at me weird when I ride into the parking lot
  • My boss offers to drive me home in his truck every time he sees me on my bike
  • I don't have a good place to change, we only have a couple of tiny bathroom stalls, and I'm a big guy 6' 2" and 250 pounds.
  • I fell pretty gross throughout the day because I work up quite a sweat.

I love the physical benefits of riding my bike everyday. I used work construction, but since then I have gained a lot of weight with my office job, so I really need the exercise.

Any advice?

okits

• CMTO 2023 Attendees
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Need Some Advice
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2015, 08:15:51 PM »
Well, for the social pressure you can just say your doctor has ordered you to get more exercise. Tell them it was this or a gym membership.  Helps if someone you know has recently had a heart attack. That's a wake-up call most people respect.

zephyr911

• Magnum Stache
  • I'm just happy to be here. \m/ ^_^ \m/
    • Pinhook Development LLC
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2015, 08:19:13 PM »
How about you invite your boss to ride with you? Lulz

imaprogrammer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2015, 08:35:57 PM »
How about you invite your boss to ride with you? Lulz

Haha. I just get this weird vibe that riding a bike to work is not cool.

ambimammular

• Bristles
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2015, 07:18:21 AM »
Yeah, but working until 65-70 is not cool either, and I have a feeling you'll be out of there long before the rest of your office is!

Put a secretive smile on your face and think of how much healthier you are and how much fatter your wallet is every time you coast past all their cars in the parking lot.  Nice work!