Author Topic: 2008  (Read 11846 times)

Bartleby_the_Scrivener

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« on: January 08, 2018, 07:58:36 PM »
I'm curious to know how 2008 affected people on this board. (Not from an investing standpoint, but from a larger picture.)

Me first: I graduated in 2009 and managed, mostly through luck, to find a decent-paying, full-time position. Many of my friends were not so lucky, getting stuck with low-paying part-time or contract work. Some of them were also clobbered by large student loan payments or job loss in the next few years. My employer eliminated or nearly eliminated my position twice.

I developed a deep abhorrence for debt during those years, started saving roughly half of my income, and concentrated on building an emergency fund. Doing some reading on the Interwebs on those topics led me to MMM. In that sense, I learned a lot from the experience. On the other hand, I worry pretty much every day about going through another prolonged and nasty recession.

Regardless, though, I think 2008 has shaped my worldview similar to how the Great Depression affected my grandparents (granted, the Great Depression was worse).

How about you?

FrugalSaver

• Pencil Stache
Re: 2008
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2018, 08:47:44 PM »
I'm curious to know how 2008 affected people on this board. (Not from an investing standpoint, but from a larger picture.)

Me first: I graduated in 2009 and managed, mostly through luck, to find a decent-paying, full-time position. Many of my friends were not so lucky, getting stuck with low-paying part-time or contract work. Some of them were also clobbered by large student loan payments or job loss in the next few years. My employer eliminated or nearly eliminated my position twice.