Author Topic: UK FI spreadsheet  (Read 3249 times)

Tighterbelt

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
UK FI spreadsheet
« on: October 28, 2018, 11:55:41 AM »
Good evening everyone.  I'm relatively new to the FIRE concept, but its striking a chord with me and I've found this forum really interesting and thought provoking.   I've seen some template spreadsheets on FI status/planning that have been shared elsewhere on the site but I've only come across US focussed ones...these are helpful for the headings and structure but is there a UK template somewhere on here that has been shared previously and someone could point me to?

Many thanks

never give up

• Walrus Stache
  • Kindness is free to give and priceless to receive
Re: UK FI spreadsheet
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2018, 11:37:20 AM »
Hi Tighterbelt. Welcome. I’m not aware of one existing in here. People seem to have different spreadsheets. Some are for budgeting or tracking costs and others for monitoring their investments. The Monevator site has some useful planning articles but I’m afraid I’m not aware of a one-stop template for UK people.

AnswerIs42

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2018, 12:02:49 PM »
While the general concept of a net worth spreadsheet is pretty universal, I have a few UK-specific things on mine that I find very useful:

- Separation of stash into pension and non-pension sections, due to age of access
- Estimated pension value at age 58, for lifetime allowance reasons
- A calculation of how much I can run down my non-pension stash each year so it's at zero at age 58. Once this figure reaches my basic target, then I'm FI, not too long now :)

Tighterbelt

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2018, 12:11:23 PM »
Thanks so much for the replies.  I've got a basic spreadsheet so will continue to build on this as I learn more from members on here.

PhilB

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2018, 12:12:26 PM »