Author Topic: Target FIRE: 2017  (Read 278956 times)

noble_goal

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Target FIRE: 2017
« Reply #1450 on: September 11, 2018, 07:20:01 PM »
I haven't written in a while but I do jump on to check how you guys are doing from time to time.  I was active around 2015-2016, but then decided on OMY.  Work is super lucrative and rarely terrible, but of course not half as appealing as the freedom of a vacation day.  I'm tracking for ~2M in 28 months time, and I'll be 35 years old.  I feel grateful knowing my theoretical SWR already exceeds my expenses.  It has become a question of when and how to slow down.

I saved up some vacation and took all the summer Friday's off this year, as an experiment.  It was delicious.  I started making educational courses and posting them on Udemy, and I'm making $500/month on the side from that.  I started playing pool more often and really enjoying the gradual improvements in my game. 

Now I find myself rehearsing the future conversation with my bosses where I request to work Monday through Thursday.  The worst they could say is "no" or counter with a compromise.  2 years ago, I would have sooner resigned than make this request, but now I feel more secure in my position, confident in the value of my contribution, empowered by my ability to walk in the not-so-distant future, and keen on making the role a better fit for my lifestyle in the long term.  If there is no potential for flexibility, finding that out sooner than later is a good thing.

If anyone relates, I'd love to hear from you.  Thanks for reading.

MrsWhipple

• Bristles
« Reply #1451 on: September 11, 2018, 09:39:52 PM »