Author Topic: Taking a Year Off  (Read 6310 times)

gianleer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Taking a Year Off
« on: August 13, 2014, 05:21:28 PM »
Hi all,

First post on here! Been an MMM reader for a year or two (can't remember exactly) but a long-time reader of financial blogs/books/etc.

Here is our situation... I am 27, and my wife is 29. I have always been very frugal, and have slowly convinced my way to have a similar financial outlook to me (for the most part, at least). I am an accountant by trade and handle most to all of the family finances.

Quick backstory - I graduated from college and got a job right away, and worked there for about 6 months. After that, my wife was moving back to Colorado (where she is from) so I decided to quit my job and follow her, with a few thousand dollars in the bank. I was fortunate to land a great job at a great company, and have been working there ever since. This was in November 2010, and I have been fortunate that my salary + bonuses is about 3x what I made when I started!

We have saved a lot of money both in savings and retirement, and I am guessing if I stayed at my current job, the company stayed stable, and I kept getting my raises/bonuses similar to what I've been getting, we could probably retire in 5-7 years (or at least semi-retire, with help from the market). However, we've decided to try a different route! We know we will want kids, but we also love to travel... so the plan we hatched was to quit work and take a year off to travel before we try to have kids, but still put ourselves in good financial position when we return. Here are our goals, planning to be quit around the end of October 2015:

- We would like to save for a down payment on a house, obviously shooting for at least 20%. I'm guessing we would look at houses in the $200K-$250K range (highly dependent, of course, on where we live and want to settle down... we aren't really too sure yet), and we are probably about 75% of the way to this goal.