Author Topic: Strength & Fitness 2016  (Read 402411 times)

big_owl

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Strength & Fitness 2016
« Reply #850 on: April 28, 2016, 10:01:43 AM »
Ugh, tweaked my back on a heavy deficit deadlift today. Dropped the bar as soon as I felt a twinge but it's pretty stiff and sore now. Hopefully just a muscle strain. I was feeling really good before that and I'm afraid I let my technique get sloppy. Not the wisest approach when pulling 495lbs! :(

Hah, a few weeks ago, literally the day after I was posting to JoRocka about SI joint issues....I was doing straight-legged deadlifts in the gym, like I've been doing for 15 years.  Only 315lbs which is a pretty normal after-warmup-set weight and  OH SHIT I felt like I was in the process of tearing every single lower back muscle in my body.  Immediately dropped weight but it was too late - sat down on the bench, got pale and my wife came back from the drinking fountain and was like what happened?  Told her my workout was done and it was time to leave.

Two days later I couldn't walk, stand, get out of bed...anything.  Went to ER but no disk issues which was what I was worried about.  Turns out it was SI strain and I had to use a cane to get around for a week.  Getting better now but still not doing any leg workouts. 

Anyway, kinda funny it had to happen then, I've never had a LB injury.  Def by far the worst bodybuilding injury of any kind I've experienced to date.  Will be nerve-wracking doing squats and DLs again just waiting for something like that to recur.

jordanread

« Reply #851 on: April 28, 2016, 10:09:27 AM »
Ugh, tweaked my back on a heavy deficit deadlift today. Dropped the bar as soon as I felt a twinge but it's pretty stiff and sore now. Hopefully just a muscle strain. I was feeling really good before that and I'm afraid I let my technique get sloppy. Not the wisest approach when pulling 495lbs! :(