Author Topic: Strength & Fitness 2016  (Read 402436 times)

Bracken_Joy

• Walrus Stache
Re: Strength & Fitness 2016
« Reply #750 on: April 03, 2016, 05:45:58 PM »
Well, I was going to say I didn't end up working out, and just gardened instead.

Now I can't really move my arms. I am reevaluating "just gardened", lol!

Really though, a total of 5 hours, 3 of hard cleaning ground cover and then planting. All manually, with shovel/rake. Owowowowow. This is what we call functional fitness, right? Ow.

hudsoncat

• Bristles
« Reply #751 on: April 04, 2016, 05:37:33 AM »
DH and I finished the Oak Barrel Half Marathon on Saturday. Each of us hit a PR and I hit my 2:20 goal with a 2:19.51! Honestly, when I set my goals for this year, I thought both of my running goals (sub-30 5K and sub-2:20 Half) were stretch goals for me. I never expected to hit them so early in the year. I've been running off and on for 4 years (mostly I'd sign up for a race, half train, run it, and quit running until I signed up for another race), but last summer when I started losing weight in ernest, I also started running consistently and it has certainly paid off, way more than I could have ever expected.

Oak Barrel is in Lynchburg, TN. Small town, smallish (1600 participants) race. Beautiful course. One brutal hill and some small rollers. Well organized with great volunteers. Well priced with nice race swag (Long sleeve half zip, hat/visor, socks). Fabulous finish line food.  I'd highly recommend the race to anyone in the southern part of the US looking for a fun half.

This week I'm going to ease back into running and swim a bit more than I have been. I feel pretty great, but no reason to rush back in and chance it.

Jon_Snow

• Magnum Stache
  • I am no man’s chair.
« Reply #752 on: April 04, 2016, 06:22:54 AM »