Author Topic: Sleep and Exercise for Fun and Profit  (Read 4068 times)

Torgo

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Sleep and Exercise for Fun and Profit
« on: October 01, 2014, 07:51:19 PM »
You'd think that as a biology grad student, I'd have a handle on the importance of biological rhythms.

But no - I keep getting into patterns where I stay in the lab very late, thus not seeing my friends and roommates, get home at nearly midnight, and either get very little sleep (decreasing productivity the next day meaning I have to stay late again) or go in late (again staying late - hours are flexible as long as we get the work done).

To make matters worse, when I don't get enough sleep I'm hungry all day and when I stay late I can't cook real food and wind up buying crappy things at the overpriced on-campus eateries.  The bad morning schedule also means I don't do the morning runs I had begun in the summer, which also decrease my hunger and normalize my sleep schedule to boot when I do them.

Well, here goes nothin'.  Tonight is an early-sleep night with a one-off microdose of melatonin to push my rhythm back by about 2 hours.  Tomorrow I have no time-sensitive experiments early, and will run before getting ready for work.  This pattern must continue.

cdttmm

• Stubble
Re: Sleep and Exercise for Fun and Profit
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2014, 05:51:34 AM »
I hear you! One of the students in my intro psych class, after learning about circadian rhythms, sleep, what lack of sleep does to the body, and so forth declared, "My sleep debt is so great I should probably declare bankruptcy!"

I, too, am working to get back on track with my exercise, healthful eating, and sleep routine. Good luck to you, Torgo!

Hannah

• Stubble
    • Cookbook Authority
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2014, 06:07:28 AM »