Author Topic: Retiring in Montenegro  (Read 17290 times)

russianswinga

• Stubble
  • Truth is just an excuse for a lack of imagination
Retiring in Montenegro
« on: April 24, 2015, 03:47:21 PM »
You’ve probably seen me in the Shame and Comedy forum, but this is my first time venturing into other forums. I’m ready to throw down the gauntlet. I’m 32 years old, just had my first (and likely last) child with my wonderful wife, and this made want to put down more concrete retirement plans once my kid is off to college. I always do better in reaching a goal if I can visualize it in every detail. Unfortunately with FIRE that can be pretty vague – first retire, then figure out what you want to do that gives you pleasure, something you’d do anyway even if you didn’t get paid for it.
For me that something was travel. I’ve already been to 16 countries (not counting my birth country, Russia, and my current home country, California, USA), and knew I wanted to see the world, and more of it. The unfortunate thing about living in the US is that it is difficult to see the world in anything resembling a cheap way. Airfare even between the states is obnoxiously overpriced. I’ve been reading several travel blogs for a while, including a gentleman that is retired in his mid-30’s, rents an apartment in a small Israeli village, and travels the world about 75% of the time, usually on a fixed and tight budget. I decided that in retirement, I need a frugal “home base” from which to travel, and extensive research has led me to Kotor Bay, Montenegro.