Author Topic: Reduce the number of transactions you make  (Read 1350 times)

FausseBourgeoise

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Reduce the number of transactions you make
« on: July 03, 2016, 11:44:14 PM »
So about 8 months ago, I was hit with a bank fee for the first --and last-- time. The clerk noted that I tend to make quite a few small transactions. Since I still save 50-60% on a monthly basis with a solid pension, I didn't worry about it too much.
---
But I have been using YNAB for about 10 months now and I just looked at June and it turns out I made 58 transactions in 30 days, including transfers and bill payments. I'm not paying any bank fees, but I will surely cut down on spending money, grocery bills, and spontaneous treats if I do this.

I walk almost everywhere, with a couple of bus trips, and often a grocery run includes 1-7 items (fresh produce and maybe 1-2 pantry items). I am in a transitional phase with my dietary habits so I'm getting the pantry established. I also get a couple of things per month as I am slowly turning the apartment into a home - e.g. herbs and planters for the patio. I also help friends who are living under the poverty line (a lot of spending money and gifts go there).

For June, my breakdown was:
Bills - 5
Transfers - 5
Personal Care - 1
Gifts - 5
Groceries, food - 17
Spending money - Clothing, hobbies, household items, all kindsa treats - 25

This month, I'm going to shoot for 31 transactions or fewer in 31 days, which represents a sweeping reduction, but I think I can handle it given that my pantry is already fairly stocked. I will be making a few planned purchases for the patio garden and a birthday.

I'm already at 5, eep!
Rent, gift, clothes, groceries x2

For the purposes of this experiment, I'm going to say that transfers and recurring bill payments are waived as transactions and I am mostly referring to daily transactions on my debit card. But, counting those in as well will be my stretch goal :)

And you?

Frankies Girl