Author Topic: Race from $2M to $4M...and Beyond!  (Read 1270030 times)

Dicey

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Race from $2M to $3M.....and beyond!
« Reply #1550 on: August 22, 2019, 10:05:55 AM »
I needed to read this this morning guys. It's so bad. 39 weeks to go....

FI and my decision to RE in May 2020 is causing me to pull back. It's so hard to do much more than what is required of me. No fire. No desire. I'm just done. Meanwhile they hired a whiz kid who is running circles around me. He stole my direct report. He gets invited to all the important meetings with the big shots. They are all impressed with him because he's a smart kid who has the desire to read all the CMS regs in his free time, and kiss lots of ass when he's in the office. Me, not so much. I was once him but now I'm just a 40 something year old mom who's mind is really at home about 75% of the time, but I've got 20 years of experience. Sometimes I care. Sometimes I feel so depressed as I feel like I'm watching it slip away. Last night I cried when I got home. But yet I have no, zero, absolutely no desire to fight for the work and the recognition. I hate big office politics.
Sometimes I worry that they might be trying to get to a position where they can lay me off. Where they don't need me as a SME. I'm fairly expensive. Obviously I don't care about that, other than it would really hurt my ego.

Not sure what to do. My DH says keep going to May. Do the minimum required but do good work. Try not to care. Collect your bonus and GTFO.

Sorry that was an emotional brain dump.

Why May?  This sounds awful.
JoJoP, the answer, or at least part of it, is in the last line.