Author Topic: Race from $2M to $4M...and Beyond!  (Read 1269950 times)

Bateaux

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Race from $2M to $3M.....and beyond!
« Reply #1000 on: May 08, 2019, 10:31:43 PM »
I spend a lot of time with younger friends these days.  It keeps you younger, if in nothing but attitude.  I certainly have older friends, but most of them seem old in body and mind.  I'm planning a September 14er peak bagging trip for this year.  The younger ones think that's cool, the older ones think I'm nuts.  Weekend before last I decided to put my camping gear on my bicycle and traveled 170 miles in two days.  I was run off the road, horns blown at me, rocks thrown from tires struck my body.  I plan to do much more road touring in the future, I'm just getting started. You can die or be injured seeking Type 2 fun.  But, you'll die eventually whether you pushed the limits or not.

Maybe consider switching to mountain biking.  When I was younger, I was always on my bike including competitive races in UBLA (remember that name?) which became USCF.  I'd ride from Worcester, MA to Boston to see my girl friend.  These days, I stay off the road.  Too many LOLing teenage girls in Wrangler Rubicons focusing on their phones.  None of that on the trails and I can manage logs that fall across it.

Went mountain biking Tuesday.  Only did 10 miles but still an ass kicker.  Dreaming of the Tour Divide and I'm researching the right bike right now.   My 26 inch tires hard tail with weak suspension won't cut it.  I'm going to be getting a 29er plus modern bike soon.

soccerluvof4

• Walrus Stache
  • Retired at 50
    • My Journal
« Reply #1001 on: May 10, 2019, 03:18:31 AM »
Well with the last couple days of losses I am back on the wrong side of 3M. Was nice while it lasted. Oh well.............

Bateaux

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #1002 on: May 10, 2019, 06:48:59 AM »
Well with the last couple days of losses I am back on the wrong side of 3M. Was nice while it lasted. Oh well.............