Author Topic: Quit Smoking- November 10th  (Read 6451 times)

essjay43

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Quit Smoking- November 10th
« on: November 05, 2013, 03:12:36 PM »
I am going to quit smoking cold turkey on November 10th. This will be at least my tenth attempt at quitting. So far I've tried the patch, pills, gum, and cold turkey. I have been smoking more than a pack a day for the past 10 years which adds up to around 25k.

I have a 1 year old daughter and another on the way. Recently I've been waking up feeling like I have pneumonia. I've decided I will quit forever on November 10th. I don't have a plan except to stick it out and remind myself that it needs to be done.

I'll let you know how it goes.

KulshanGirl

• Bristles
Re: Quit Smoking- November 10th
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2013, 03:36:45 PM »
There is nothing, but nothing, that will make your life better in every way more than stopping smoking will.  Congratulations!  It's the hardest thing that anyone in these forums will do.  You will do it!  Check in!  We've got your back.  :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9jK-NcRmVcw

TGod

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2013, 04:26:42 PM »
Awesome!!! Trust me, you can do it!

My husband and I quit smoking for the very last time about 4 years ago and we haven't looked back. The trick for us was reading the book Quitting Smoking the Easy Way by Allen Carr. We have had many friends who quit before us or have quit since and ALL of them have gone back to smoking. The biggest indication that this would be a struggle for them was how they approached it.

I don't have a plan except to stick it out and remind myself that it needs to be done
Much like you they had the idea that they were giving something up, that it was going to be hard but they would push through, take it one day at a time, . Honestly, the book was the best thing we had ever read, and we got it from the library so it was free.