Author Topic: No Clothes Shopping in 2014  (Read 177412 times)

4alpacas

• Handlebar Stache
Re: No Clothes Shopping in 2014
« Reply #450 on: June 23, 2014, 09:21:42 AM »
I attempted to repair two pairs of jeans yesterday.  I ironed on patched that I bought a while back at JoAnn's for $2.  I'm wearing one of the pairs right now, and it seems fine.  This is my first attempt at repairing a clothing item, so I'm feeling very proud of myself.  I even posted it in the "what you did today to save money" page.

The repair job was a bust.  The iron-on patches are in a precarious position, so they're not sticking well.  At least I tried!

BigBigote

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #451 on: June 24, 2014, 08:23:58 PM »
This challenge is so interesting - I'm feeling inspired!

To continue being inspired - here's a podcast from Stuff Mom Never Told You on our overconsumption and how donating clothes isn't always what you think it is: http://www.stuffmomnevertoldyou.com/podcasts/does-donating-clothes-do-more-harm-than-good/

Apparently, people in Africa sometimes refer to donated clothes that get shipped over from the US as "Dead White People Clothes", because they can't imagine someone giving away such nice clothes unless they died.  It does show how we buy perfectly good items, just to discard them!

4alpacas

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #452 on: June 26, 2014, 11:20:04 AM »
This challenge is so interesting - I'm feeling inspired!

To continue being inspired - here's a podcast from Stuff Mom Never Told You on our overconsumption and how donating clothes isn't always what you think it is: http://www.stuffmomnevertoldyou.com/podcasts/does-donating-clothes-do-more-harm-than-good/

Apparently, people in Africa sometimes refer to donated clothes that get shipped over from the US as "Dead White People Clothes", because they can't imagine someone giving away such nice clothes unless they died.  It does show how we buy perfectly good items, just to discard them!