Author Topic: Myopia / nearsightedness improvement  (Read 7700 times)

rachael talcott

• Bristles
Myopia / nearsightedness improvement
« on: August 08, 2017, 12:18:38 PM »
I've worn contact lenses my entire adult life (-5D left eye; -4.25D right eye, no astigmatism) and glasses before that starting at about age 7 or so.  But I started to develop some sort of allergy or sensitivity to the contact lens cleaning solutions.  I found one that was okay, but then the company went and changed the formula to add the stuff that I'm pretty sure I react badly to. I have one bottle left, but I started thinking about getting laser eye surgery.  But it's expensive and holds a not-tiny risk of side effects.

So I started poking around online and found various claims of people reversing their myopia.  There is obviously a lot of pseudoscience surrounding the whole concept, but I'm a retired biologist with time to do literature research and to experiment on myself.  I printed off an eye chart and measured my eyes with my contacts at 20/32, which is legal to drive, but not great. And then I tried wearing a pair of plus lenses (reading glasses) over my contacts for all near work.  It was doing something because I could look up from my computer, take the reading glasses off, and see pin-sharp through my contacts. So I kept reading and settled on a routine of not wearing lenses during my morning walk, wearing weak lenses most of the day, and only wearing full correction when I really needed to see in the distance (such as driving).

I'm not quite a month into this experiment and my right eye can read 20/20 with a lens that is 1.5 diopters weaker than my prescription, and my left eye with a lens 1.25 diopters weaker, although it feels very close to moving to 1.5 D even though it's not due for four more days, assuming linear rate of change.