Author Topic: My own challenge: turning things around!  (Read 3513 times)

mike@livetheneweconomy

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • Live the New Economy
My own challenge: turning things around!
« on: July 16, 2012, 09:42:49 AM »
I'm a career military officer only a few years out from transitioning to civilian life and I've just in the last few months taken the time to figure out my financial future!  Anyhow, I've committed to the following goals:

1) No non-mortgage debt within 24 months.
2) Another income source of at least $1,000 monthly within 24 months.
3) $40,000 in savings within 24 months.  Down payment on post-military home.
4) Retire NLT Age 52 (yes, I know, I'm late to the game on this).  Earlier if I can generate enough income streams without having to start a bridge job after my transition to civilian life. 
5) Income-generating assets of $750,000 NLT Age 52.

Undoubtedly some of this will change as I learn and grow, but this is where I'm at now and I love this awesome community I've just discovered.  My wife and I are currently dialing down our lifestyle to find out where our real cost-of-living is.  I'm blogging the entire thing over at my site so that I stay committed and accountable!  Anyhow, I'm glad to be here!  Thanks!

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: My own challenge: turning things around!
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2012, 11:43:04 AM »
Hey Mike, welcome!

Have you checked out The Military Guide to Financial Independence and Retirement?

http://the-military-guide.com/
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

igthebold

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2012, 01:38:38 PM »