Author Topic: Let me guess how much you have saved  (Read 7690 times)

SnackDog

• Handlebar Stache
Let me guess how much you have saved
« on: May 16, 2016, 10:43:40 AM »
I estimate that, with reasonable assumptions, one's total savings should equal savings rate times years of saving.  This might sound high after quite a few years working (with increasing pay and savings rate), but it works out as stock appreciation adds to principle.  There are a thousand exceptions to this (school loans, divorce, fluctuating income and savings rates, etc) but as a general rule I am proposing it.

This works for me and for a buddy who has worked 30 years.  Does it work for you?

E.g. if you have worked 10 years, currently save 25% and earn $100K, I estimate you have $250K saved.  Am I close?

MVal

• Pencil Stache
Re: Let me guess how much you have saved
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2016, 11:01:21 AM »
Ha, no but I wish...I've been working full time for 8 years but I've only been able to save for the last 2-3 years.

forummm

• Walrus Stache
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2016, 11:48:12 AM »
I estimate that, with reasonable assumptions, one's total savings should equal savings rate times years of saving.  This might sound high after quite a few years working (with increasing pay and savings rate), but it works out as stock appreciation adds to principle. 

I estimate that you'll usually be accurate within an order of magnitude :)

There are a thousand exceptions to this (school loans, divorce, fluctuating income and savings rates, etc) but as a general rule I am proposing it.

The fluctuations are huge though. I used to make $7.50/hr. I was working while in school for a long time. My savings rate has changed from negative whatever (occasional times in school without a job) to being pretty high now as my income has grown and my expenses decreased. And I've been working a lot longer than DW.

So in my case, you are off (overestimate) by about 300%.

MonkeyJenga