Author Topic: January Biking Challenge!!!  (Read 21107 times)

frugalcalan

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: January Biking Challenge!!!
« Reply #50 on: January 22, 2013, 08:04:51 AM »
I just started riding my bike to work in Oct so this is all new to me.  I have found the colder it gets it seems like it saps my strength more.  Like this morning was rough.  It was below 10 F and I think there was a small headwind.

I was just curious if anyone experiences this.

I'm glad someone else said this!  I've been feeling that I've been riding pretty slowly lately.  Inflated my tires this morning, but today's commute didn't feel faster.  Here's hoping that it's the weather, and that once warmth returns I'll be zipping along like a gazelle.  Or maybe I'm just slow :/

kythuen

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #51 on: January 22, 2013, 08:41:51 AM »
I think I tend to go a bit faster in the cold - on purpose, to stay warm!  But I don't often have to fight the wind. 

I do find that I wear out a little easier.  But my ride is so short, it's a very minor difference.

bcg150

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #52 on: January 22, 2013, 09:23:15 AM »
Personally I am a bit confused by it.  In Oct and November it did not seem as bad but then again, I am riding more often and longer distances to make a goal I set for myself.

And to lay it all out before you I am overweight so I have that working against me as well as it seems like I am always struggling with "hills" or a "headwind."  I guess I just figured at some point the rides would get easier over time but it has yet to happen.

It is good to hear others feel similar or say they seem to wear out easier in the cold.  I just wonder if sometimes I am doing something wrong.

bcg

Ottawa

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #53 on: January 22, 2013, 09:39:32 AM »
Interesting observation and question...There are a lot of variables to consider from my perspective: