Author Topic: Giving Up Caffeine  (Read 16868 times)

amyable

• Bristles
Giving Up Caffeine
« on: December 16, 2012, 07:14:12 PM »
I'm going to quit caffeine tomorrow!  I've been drinking around 3-4 cups of coffee everyday for approximately 10 years, but lately, I've been thinking of quitting.  While I don't think caffeine is necessarily an unhealthy habit, I've come to resent my addiction to it. 

Anyone quit caffeine before, or want to quit now?  I've quit twice before, but I have never been able to make it for more than about a month before giving up. 

I'm going to switch to herbal tea.  I know I'm going to be completely miserable for the next 3-4 days, but I'm ready for it!

Will

• Pencil Stache
  • What the deuce?!?!?
Re: Giving Up Caffeine
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2012, 09:06:56 PM »
I've been caffeine-free for a few years now (I don't even remember when it happened).  I've never been a coffee drinker; it was all from carbonated beverages (soda, pop, whatever you want to call them).  I'd have a can or two of Diet Dr. Pepper or Diet Coke a day.  Well, one time when we ran out, I just didn't have the chance to run to the store to get more.  After suffering the caffeine withdrawal headaches, I decided I might as well just give it up.  Tried going the caffeine-free soda route and decided to just forget about soda altogether.  Now I'm pretty much drinking filtered tap water and not much else (an occasional orange juice).  I'm sure it has saved me a lot of money!

JJ

• Stubble
    • A Philosopher and A Businessman
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2012, 10:43:02 PM »
Oooh yeah.  Cold turkey on caffeine = sensational headaches.  Strap yourself in & good luck!

happy

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2012, 11:30:52 PM »