Author Topic: Getting rid of stuff / Clearing out clutter!  (Read 1850075 times)

RetiredAt63

• CMTO 2023 Attendees
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Getting rid of stuff / Clearing out clutter!
« Reply #3550 on: July 09, 2016, 07:33:45 AM »
I've been doing really well clearing out but now I'm at my childhood home facing a big struggle. Just found my college, school and undergrad projects and a lot of old notes and cards. This is hard!
Oh yes.  I still have the box of index cards all my references were written on for my thesis.  I graduated in '75.  I think I have gotten rid of most of my old school stuff - being retired from teaching has ended that "But I could use this in class" feeling.  As in, I did use the index cards, just to show the students that the mechanics of research are so much easier now, but that they still have to think!
I used to shred so much, but I just bought (yes, spent money) a little metal fire pit thing, and I think a lot of paper will get burned now. 

YogiKitti

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3551 on: July 09, 2016, 05:38:26 PM »
We got rid of four grocery bags of clothes this weekend. There are some small kitchen appliances I want to get rid of. I don't feel like dealing with the hassle to sell them, but they are things that should be sold instead of just donated.

mustachepungoeshere

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3552 on: July 09, 2016, 07:52:38 PM »
Friends have offered to help us move but I'm intensely uncomfortable with people knowing I have possessions. I mean, obviously they know I own things, but I'm known as the decluttering, anti-stuff girl. My skin crawls at the idea of people helping us move and being ... disappointed in me?

Anyway, I started a new tally (whiteboard marker on a mirror) and I'm down 57 things for the day.

Having to move ALL your stuff is always the moment you fully realize how much stuff you really own. (The last 2 times I moved it really appalled me)