Author Topic: Getting rid of stuff / Clearing out clutter!  (Read 1850046 times)

Ascotillion

• Stubble
Re: Getting rid of stuff / Clearing out clutter!
« Reply #1250 on: March 22, 2015, 06:19:46 PM »
Lugged three bags on foot to the nearest op-shop and donated everything inside. My bedroom floor is now completely clean!

Next stop, selling the stuff that's actually worth something.

HappierAtHome

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #1251 on: March 22, 2015, 06:34:14 PM »
Got rid of boxes and boxes of old papers on the weekend. Mostly uni-related - it's more than five years since I graduated now!

We cleared out our wine collection, by getting rid of some bottles kept for sentimental reasons, and giving away most of the rest.

Several more big bags have been filled with things for charity, including some good quality kitchen things that we'll just never use.

theadvicist

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #1252 on: March 23, 2015, 04:24:20 AM »
Love reading everyone's successes on this thread!

My cull rate is definitely slowing down. At first I was reluctant to let things go, and very picky. Then I realised how much better I felt and got ruthless! But now I've got rid of so much stuff most of what I have I regularly use. I think.

So this weekend I went through my wardrobe and turned all the hangers. I thought I didn't need to do this exercise because I know which things I don't wear but am holding onto for silly reasons (wore it on a special date, don't like how it fits but it was expensive etc). But I'm hoping it will make me see that I NEVER wear them, so there is no point keeping them 'just in case I need them'. We will see.

DagobertDuck

• Bristles
« Reply #1253 on: March 23, 2015, 06:31:45 AM »
This is cool.

The other day I was going through my cupboards, and noticed I had plenty of empty space in them. Looked around the apartment, on the table, on my desk etc, and there just wasn't any stuff to store in the cupboards!
So next step: ditch a cupboard.?