Author Topic: Build a shed and rent out the house  (Read 12036 times)

funnybunny

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Build a shed and rent out the house
« on: August 18, 2013, 06:27:00 PM »
I'm not challenging anyone to do this. Just wondering if anyone has thought about it. I've been kicking around the idea for a couple of months. Even went to Lowe's to price out the materials. I was thinking it would be pretty cool to build a 12x16 shed in the back yard and rent out the rooms in the house. The rent will cover the cost of the mortgage and utilities. And in about five years I will have enough savings to pay off the house. What do you guys think? Too extreme? Keep in mind I will be using high end materials and the final product will look nicer then any room in the existing house.

Honest Abe

• Bristles
  • Emancipate Yourself from Mental Slavery
Re: Build a shed and rent out the house
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2013, 06:30:50 PM »
If your local municipality caught wind of this they would not be pleased... You would have to get that structure approved as a dwelling, which no doubt would drive up the cost. Not saying its not possible, just that its not as simple as building a large dog house in your yard and living inside it.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2013, 06:31:14 PM »
Search these forums for tiny house, tumbleweed, etc.

https://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/ask-a-mustachian/tumbleweed-house-income-property/
https://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/do-it-yourself-forum!/considering-building-a-tiny-house-(on-a-trailer)/
https://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/welcome-to-the-forum/super-tiny-house-(1sm9sf)-thought-provoking/
https://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/real-estate-and-landlording/rent-or-buy-advice-needed/
https://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/throw-down-the-gauntlet/reduce-housing-costs-to-zero/