Author Topic: Austerity August  (Read 14642 times)

Zamboni

• Magnum Stache
Austerity August
« on: July 31, 2013, 05:36:55 PM »
Who's in?

After tracking my expenses for 3 years, my excel spreadsheet is telling me that $2912 would be my "austerity" budget.  Over of half of that is mortgage.  I see that my lowest spending month in the past two years is $3098. 

So, getting under $2900 for everything would mean spending about $200 less this month than I have spent in any month for two years.  That's the goal.

What's your goal?  Be tough on yourself but also realistic.

teagnome

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Austerity August
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2013, 06:49:18 PM »
I'm in! My monthly take-home is $2400 and August is always hard since I'm a teacher and there's always beginning of the school year spending (We start way before Labor Day, it's sad). Plus, I only get paid once a month and since Sept 1st is a Sunday, I'll have to wait for the 2nd to get paid again so 32 days to make my money last. It's tricky. I started using YNAB in July so my goal is to put away a big chunk towards a car and stay in budget for the other categories. I'll have to track for a few more months at least to figure out what "austerity" would mean for me but for now I'll just be happy if I'm not out of money on the 27th, which always seems to happen. :) Best!

SMMcP

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2013, 07:04:32 PM »
Good timing! I just got finished adding up my planned monthly expenses for August and setting a goal.  My goal is to stay under $2000.00 for monthly bills and everyday expenses. (I have separate savings that I set aside each month for things like car repairs, property tax and medical expenses).   For the past 12 months my average monthly spending is $2800.00 so this is definitely a stretch but I believe it is realistic.

olivia

• Pencil Stache
  • From Consumerism to Minimalism
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2013, 07:11:53 PM »