Author Topic: 66% Savings September  (Read 7583 times)

MoonPilgrim

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
66% Savings September
« on: August 31, 2012, 11:46:22 AM »
My goal for September is to not spend any money outside of my regular bills, which will include the mortgage for my home and a rental property, utilities, and the next 6 months of car insurance. 

I've traded in some credit card points for gift cards that should cover other routine expenses for a month (pet food, people food, gas).  Anything else should be able to wait until October 1, right?

If I make it on the gift cards, I'll be able to sock away 66% of my monthly take-home for September. 

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: 66% Savings September
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2012, 12:37:25 PM »
A "spend nothing" month is a great challenge.

Good luck!
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

starbuck

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2012, 01:48:13 PM »
Ooh I like this challenge. I think I'll join you! For me, I'm at 65% right now, so for September my goal is going to be the 75% mark. There's not a lot of fat left to trim from my budget since I'm in a high cost of living area, but I'd like to see if I can do it.

I'll need to really maximize our grocery budget, and keep discretionary spending to just the few social obligations I've already got for September. My 65% rate is comfortable, so I'm intrigued to see if I can bump it up 10% or not. It's not going to be sustainable, but I think it's a worthwhile exercise. Plus it's been 6 months since Maximum Mustache March, and I'm ready for another challenge!

TLV

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2012, 01:57:43 PM »