Author Topic: 23 y.o. planning for the ability to retire at 35  (Read 4430 times)

Poopsio

23 y.o. planning for the ability to retire at 35
« on: November 30, 2014, 11:37:12 PM »
Hey all,

I'm a 22 YO predental student. I plan to be a dentist, specifically an orthodontist. It's my dream to provide high-quality care. It's a stressful profession but I think the rewards make it worth it. Money-wise, it's kind of hard to adopt a mustachian ethos but I think it's possible.

I currently have loans in the amount of 30K and I anticipate them to be close to 250K by the time I am done with my training.

I currently have my expenses close to 1k/month and that includes transportation, rent, insurance. I don't have a car and don't plan on having one for as long as possible because I live where there is great public transport where I'm at.

I have a sizable (by no means .1% status but well above average) inheritance and family assets that I am doing my best to act like I'm never going to get because it distracts me from my goals. I don't want to include that in my plans here. My plan is to minimize the costs of my education while getting the most from it.

So that's it. I'm posting this on December 1st, 2014, as throwing down the gauntlet. I will be able to retire at 35 if all goes according to plan.

Let's do this!

marty998

• Walrus Stache
Re: 23 y.o. planning for the ability to retire at 35
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2014, 04:06:12 AM »
13 years? I will be just over 40 by then.

Assuming I can continue to save at my current rate + pay increases I could see myself amassing a further $800k excluding investment returns in that time.

Will take your gauntlet and run it. Here's to MMM site still being around in 2027.

Pooperman

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2014, 06:56:07 AM »
I just had to post 'cause I saw your name. Good luck!

boarder42

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2014, 07:03:28 AM »