Author Topic: 2022 No-Buy Year  (Read 2795 times)

getsorted

• Handlebar Stache
2022 No-Buy Year
« on: January 13, 2022, 03:47:01 PM »
I am new to FIRE, although in my case it's more FIR - I'm 39, earn 52k/year USD, and am starting over saving from scratch after a costly divorce, so "early" is not so early for me. But MMM-like strategies are going to be necessary for me to retire at all. Luckily, I was frugal before hand and have the know-how.

To get a better idea of my base spending needs, I've decided to institute a low-buy/no-buy 2022. My mantra: I already have everything I need.

My rules around allowable purchases:

1. Clothing only to replace what wears out or is unrepairable. (My wardrobe is already small and capsule-like, or I would be further downsizing).
2. Repairs to existing possessions are allowed. Buying supplies for new projects is not. (I have a backlog of project supplies).
3. Food (obviously), birthday and Christmas gifts, and non-food household consumables such as toilet paper are allowed, as long as total monthly spending stays beneath my designated threshold (in my case $2,000 monthly).

Anyone else in? Tips, suggestions, or relevant experiences to share? What are your rules?

draco44

• Pencil Stache
Re: 2022 No-Buy Year
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2022, 11:16:50 PM »
Hi! Sorry to hear about the life situation change (been there) that's at least in part motivating your no spend year. But that's great you are being proactive.