Author Topic: Tax implications of house sale?  (Read 1248 times)

Fig

• Bristles
Tax implications of house sale?
« on: August 11, 2017, 02:38:41 PM »
I'd appreciate some advice on selling a house in the US. There are a couple of complications and I've no knowledge in this area.

We don't live in the US but my husband inherited his mom's rental house there a couple of years ago. Since the original tenants moved on, we've rented it to his sister at a cheap rate.

We'd like to sell the house at a low price to her fiance so they could live there. No facepunches please - we want to help them out... and never deal with this property again.

However, I have many concerns about incurring the wrath of the IRS and I'd appreciate advice:

- No inheritance tax was owed but are there any tax implications from selling the house on a couple of years later? I doubt the value will have increased much.

- Are there tax implications from selling a house to a (sort of) relative at less than half its value?

- What are the tax implications of selling a rental property?

- How quickly can a straightforward house sale go through in the US? Owning this property is causing problems with buying our own home.

- Are there any other issues I haven't thought of?

skuzuker28

• Stubble
Re: Tax implications of house sale?
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2017, 03:31:15 PM »
I'd appreciate some advice on selling a house in the US. There are a couple of complications and I've no knowledge in this area.

We don't live in the US but my husband inherited his mom's rental house there a couple of years ago. Since the original tenants moved on, we've rented it to his sister at a cheap rate.

We'd like to sell the house at a low price to her fiance so they could live there. No facepunches please - we want to help them out... and never deal with this property again.

However, I have many concerns about incurring the wrath of the IRS and I'd appreciate advice: