Author Topic: Tax Harvesting - When?  (Read 2253 times)

Radioherd88

• Stubble
Tax Harvesting - When?
« on: February 04, 2019, 03:31:22 PM »
Hi All,

I'm new to the notion of tax gain/loss harvesting and wanted to see if there's a quick calculation/estimation for how to figure out if it's worth doing it each year?

I currently have the majority of my portfolio in tax advantages accounts (401k, 403b, 457b) so there's no opportunity there but my taxable portfolio will start to grow this year. Last year i made a small loss on my 10k Employer Stock Purchase Plan - how do you work out if it's worth harvesting?

MustacheAndaHalf

• Walrus Stache
Re: Tax Harvesting - When?
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2019, 12:40:54 AM »
What is the cost to tax loss harvest for you?  If you're using mutual funds or ETFs that are $0/trade, you don't pay any fees to tax loss harvest.

You should also read about wash sales, which would cancel your attempt at tax loss harvesting.  You can't buy the same investment within 30 days of the same (including reinvested dividends).  If you sell at a loss, but you also bought, the purchase washes out the sale (to the extent it's the same amount).

One approach is to pair up each investment with something similar, but not "substantially identical".  Maybe you sell S&P 500 at a loss and buy a total stock market fund.

Radioherd88

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2019, 01:56:19 PM »
What is the cost to tax loss harvest for you?  If you're using mutual funds or ETFs that are $0/trade, you don't pay any fees to tax loss harvest.

You should also read about wash sales, which would cancel your attempt at tax loss harvesting.  You can't buy the same investment within 30 days of the same (including reinvested dividends).  If you sell at a loss, but you also bought, the purchase washes out the sale (to the extent it's the same amount).