Author Topic: Tax filing considerations when spouse has significant student loans  (Read 2562 times)

ingy

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello All,

I did some searching, but was unable to find a thread that dealt with this specific issue.  Please accept my apologies if I missed it. 

My wife has student loan debt of around $196,000.  She works in the public sector, and is eligible for loan forgiveness after working for the government for 10 years.  It's an income-based repayment program, and her monthly payments are calculated based on her salary.  She's about three years into this program and makes around $56,000.  She must re-certify for the program each year. 

I work in the private sector and made around $160,000 last year.  At the beginning of this year I took a more entrepreneurial position.  Quality of life has improved, but salary has been cut about 45%. 

We were married at the end of 2014, and filed our taxes "married, filing separately" for 2014 and 2015.  My wife's income-based repayment program will continue to only take into account her salary as long we don't file jointly. 

Last year we received a small refund for our 2014 taxes.  This year we owe about $3500.  It's pretty clear that we did not allow for a sufficient withholding on our respective W4s .  Unfortunately money is tight with my new position.  I've played around with some repayment calculators online and done quite a bit of research on the pros and cons of filing jointly vs. separately.  We could reduce the amount owed this year for our 2015 taxes to around $1000 by filing jointly, but the monthly payment for her loans would increase substantially the next time she has to re-certify.  However, by filing separately there are a lot of deductions we will not be eligible for.  While the vast majority of resources suggest that it is generally more advantageous to file jointly, given our specific circumstances, it appears that continuing to file separately makes the most sense for us.